Graduation is Coming.

Graduation is coming up. Where will you be going?

That’s all I keep hearing. Stories, plans, musings. Graduation is looming, and people are figuring out the next step.

For the first time in my life, I don’t know where I will be a year from now. That’s terrifying. Even in going off to college I knew what it would be. It would be dorms and freshmen and dining halls. It would be people dying to make friends and have the best years of their lives. In going abroad I knew what it would be. It would be new people and plane tickets and if I didn’t like it, it would only be four months.

21 years of knowing what’s ahead and now all I see is an edge. I see all my plans stretching out behind me, to either side. I am trying to fill what’s ahead of me before I reach it, but I can tell I won’t be able to. It’s coming up too quick and I know I’m going to have to jump. In 7 ½ months I will reach the edge of my plan, and I’m going to go jumping off. Leaping, if you will.

A literal leap of faith.

In 7 ½ months I will be leaping into Real Life. Jumping out of Burlington, out of college and education and plans. I don’t even know when and where I am going to land. Or if I’ll land at all.

It’s difficult now. I am someone who likes a plan, I like having the map laid out in front of me. Don’t get me wrong, I know that plans don’t hold true. But it’s so nice having something to work on, to work towards. What am I working for beyond the edge? Beyond the leap of faith?

I’m sure I’ll land somewhere great. It helps knowing so many people are leaping with me. People to hold my hand as I jump. My family, my parents, those who have leapt before and know where the journey gets tough. My boy, who will hold my hand on the way to the unknown. My friends, who will give me spots to land if I can’t find my own. My camera, to document the way down.

Graduation is coming. I’ll be the one diving off the edge, cannonball-ing into my leap of faith.

I’ll see ya over the edge.

Leave a Reply

