A Pilgram, A Native American, and a College Senior

In a little over a week, I will be bidding my apartment adieu for a bit and heading home to Maryland for Thanksgiving.

I, along with all stressed out panic stricken college seniors, will be taking this week off to run from my problems and unabashedly lie about how much work I will get done, only to come back to drown in school work for the next two weeks beyond that.

Before all of this begins to hit the fan, I would like to take a moment or two to talk about what I am thankful for, as a broke, stressed out, happy, angry, confused college senior.

First things first, I am thankful that I get to go home to Maryland for a week and a half.

Under this Thank, I would like to give more Sub-Thanks.

I am thankful that, in going home, I will have free heat. I am thankful that I will have cable and clean sheets and a washing machine that does not cost any money and give me any free questionable socks coming from the man one machine over at the Laundromat. I am thankful for a fully stocked fridge that doesn’t have a strange odor coming from it and clean floors I can walk on without feeling like I lost a little part of my soul on the way from the shower to my room.

I am thankful for Maryland. I am thankful for Jerry’s white pizza and real 7/11 slurpees. I am thankful that I get to see my high school friends and my brother and, of course, my parents. Oh, and of course, I am thankful beyond measure that I will get to play with a dog for a full week.

Now, to get back to school…

I really am thankful for my crappy apartment. (Mostly because it’s so crappy it’s half the price of everyone else’s crappy apartment) I am thankful for my roommates, for having people around when I don’t want to be alone. I am thankful that a week from tomorrow, we can gather in the Strugglehut and feast on a Thanksgiving meal of Dr. Pepper and a Taco 12 pack from Taco Bell. I am thankful for my classes. Well. I am thankful for one of my classes. The only one that isn’t painfully difficult or mindnumbingly boring. (Professors, if you’re reading this, I’ll let you guys battle out which class that would be.)

I am thankful that the internet has tools that enable me to create pictures like this one…

Image

… to embody the very essence of Thanksgiving.

I am thankful for my schedule next semester, for only having three days of classes. I am thankful for my job. I am thankful for my internship. Both of which let me actually do events and make fun things happen for money… or school credit.

To sum up. I am thankful for an amazing summer, and I will be thankful for the snow. I am thankful for those cookies with the festive holiday pictures on them. I am thankful for my Boyfriend and my grandparents and that Vermont is so pretty. I am thankful that the Red Sox won the world series and that I witnessed it and I am thankful that one of my favorite authors retweeted me. I am thankful for shallow things and I am thankful that happiness is so prevelant in my day to day life. I am thankful that I get to stuff my face with garlic mashed potatoes in a week.

And, of course, I am thankful to you, dear internet stalker/friend/family member, for having the attention span to make it to the end of this post.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

