The Grand Essentials

“The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.” – George Washington Burnap

1911935_10152382580180491_7920645229050146215_o

Something to do.

Champlain, thank you. Thank you for your free movie nights. Thank you for your smoothie nights. Thank you for fondue and tarot cards and life size board games. Thank you for your spirit weeks and your spring meltdowns. For your clubs and meals and fun. Burlington, thank you. Thank you for your mountains to hike on and your lake to sail on and your cliffs to jump off of. Thank you for your bars and your shops and your pizza joints. Thank you for your events. Thank you for your surprising adventures and your non-stop excitement. Thank you for your views. Thank you for your sunrises, and, more importantly, thank you for your sunsets. Thank you for leaving me with the feeling that I left no stone unturned. No boredom found. No adventures missed. Thank you for four years of something to do.

Something to love. 

Champlain, thank you. Thank you for advertising. For writing. For the passion I had sought, but never found. Thank you for the leadership, the chance to feel empowered. Thank you for the roommates, the friends. Thank you for introducing me to some of the most amazing people that I have ever met. Burlington, thank you. Thank you for the scenery. Thank you for the mountains. Thank you for the buildings that will forever hold pieces of my heart. This place holds my love in every nook and cranny. In every dorm room I’ve lived. In every mountain I’ve seen. Thank you for four years of something to love.

Something to hope for.

Champlain, thank you. Thank you for the internships. Thank you for the hope of the future. Thank you for the practice interviews. Thank you for the faculty members. The advisors. The eternally appreciated guiding eyes and hands. Burlington, thank you. Thank you for the fresh air when rooms were too stuffy. Thank you for the sky full of stars. Thank you for the ever present reminders that this is a big world. That this is my big world. Thank you for four years of hope. Hope in people. Hope in the world. Hope in myself.

In my four years here I have found the essentials. I have learned. I have loved. I have lost. I have grown. In my four years here I have done more than I could have imagined. I have loved more than I could have thought possible. I have hoped, lost that hope, and learned to hope again. It’s cheesy, I’ll give you that, but in my four years at Champlain, I have found the essentials. And all I can say is thank you.

Leave a Reply

